My Marathon Weekend

Today, April 30, 2016, I was registered to run the Kentucky Derby Marathon. My intention was to cross another marathon off of my 50 state list. However, due to injury, I took 10 weeks off of my training and had to change my goal.

I decided to run the half marathon. Although this was a hard decision for me, I knew it was best.

So today I ran the “mini marathon,” and I thank God that I was capable of even running that distance. Although I did not train and was in pain, I was reminded of why I love running so much.

Running is a gift to me, and injuries only make me love it more.

As I ran today, there were points I wanted to stop and walk, but I would not let myself. I just put one foot in front of the other. Half way through the race I started feeling pain in my calves and knees, but I just kept telling myself: the faster you run, the faster you are done.

As a runner, I hope for a great finish time every race, but that is not always realistic. I started the race out at 7:15 pace, but after a couple miles in, I realized today was not my day. I tried to enjoy the course and take it all in. The rain started pouring down around mile seven, and it felt pretty good. It cooled me down and served as entertainment.

Running can be hard, but it is worth it. It can become one of the most enjoyable things you will ever do for yourself.

The body is capable of so many things. Half of the battle is mental. Once you have your mind is in the right spot and have a set goal, you can do anything. Just believe in yourself.

Four years ago today I ran the Capital City half marathon in Columbus, Ohio. I was only seventeen and had no idea I would form such a strong bond with this sport. After the race, I decided I wanted to run a full marathon in the fall. Ever since then, I have had this passion for the sport.

The endorphins are great, but the respect you gain for your body is better. Live life to benefit your body, and treat it like the temple it is.

Health is not limited to one sport, workout, or eating plan. It is what you make of it and is different for everyone.

Leave a Reply

